February writing links

I’ve finally finished a freelance project that was hanging over my head and am trying to get back whatever it was I was doing before said freelance project. It feels like that was about 3 years ago, but it was only 3 weeks. While I was busy juggling mom-work and freelance work (there’s probably a blog post in that, if I could just find the time to write it) apparently February ended. Which means it’s past time for February writing links. Here they are!

This one’s a bit of a rant, but a rant worth reading/thinking about, by Leon Wieseltier at the New Republic. It’s an essay on what the “digital revolution” is doing to writers (impoverishing them!), and why “nausea is in order.”

On a somewhat related note, “crowdfunding” author advances … In which “crowdfunding” is a fancy way of saying “begging.”

Mentioned in the New Republic piece above, this one, in the Atlantic, argues for shorter newspaper articles. I’m not sure if I agree or not, though the examples here sure are good ones.  I think if I was teaching a beginning journalism class, this piece might be required reading.

The Millions’ excellent guide to fiction online.

Sorry non-tweeting reading public, this one’s on Twitter.  It’s the Twitter feed of @longreads, which provides links to long-form nonfiction/journalism. I keep getting sidetracked reading the excellent writing @longreads suggests.

This one’s been widely posted, but I’m posting it here again anyway, in case you missed it. The Guardian asked various authors to give 10 Rules for Writing Fiction and the results are here. Some of the advice is quite funny, whether it was meant that way or not (“Don’t have children.” – Richard Ford) and a lot of it is to-the-point and hard, which I suppose the best advice should be.

If, like me, you’re interested in creative nonfiction, then this one’s for you. Susan Orlean, she of Orchid Thief and New Yorker article fame, is teaching a nonfiction class at NYU these days, and she’s posted her syllabus online (scroll down to find it). I found it interesting to see what she’s assigned for reading material and so on. Or maybe I just wish I could take the class.

Finally, a day in the life of author Alexander Chee, part of a series on writers’ daily lives here. What struck me most: Chee has three writing spaces set up in his house, so that no matter what part of the house he’s in, he can’t escape the work of writing.

5 thoughts on “February writing links

  1. The course by Susan Orlean seems just great! I wish I could join too (or perhaps not for the last session where people are supposed to read their essay out loud in front of the class ;( )

  2. I love that Susan Orlean assigns her own works to her students. I want to be a writing professor and make all my students read my book! And the crowfunding article was great. It takes guts for a writer to ask the public for money, although I don’t know that I would have given her any. Reminds me of that woman who got people to pay off her credit card through Internet donations a few years back. Smart business women!

Leave a Reply

