what I’ve been reading in S.F.

Here’s a look at what I’ve been reading since I got home from Boston:

-“Middlesex,” by Jeffrey Eugenidies. This book rocked! I was resistant to it for a long time, but I finally caved to the pressure. It was worth it. It’s the best novel I’ve read in ages.

– “The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy”, by Douglas Adams. I read this long, long, long ago, like in middle school, and when the movie came out I thought I’d reread it, because I had forgotten what it was all about. All I could remember (shield your eyes, those of you who haven’t read this) was that the meaning of life is 42. Anyway, I was both mildly disappointed when I reread the book, and surprised that I read this in middle school, because I can’t imagine that I got all of it. I’m still not sure I get it, and frankly, I found the writing and the humor not so compelling. Which says that a)my tastes have matured, b) I have lost my sense of humor or c) the book sucked all along, and it just took me until now to figure it out.

-“Giovanni’s Room,” by James Baldwin. I’ve never read any Baldwin before, but I liked this one, so I may do so in the future. This is for a class I’ll be taking in July. Just getting ahead in my school work. Yep.

-“A Moveable Feast,” by Ernest Hemingway. Ditto on the class. Still in the middle of this one. It’s interesting, in the way that reading other people’s blogs is interesting, but it’s not really sucking me in.

-“Cooking and Stealing: The Tin House Nonfiction Reader.” This is a great collection of essays, most notably Elissa Schappell’s “Sex and the Single Squirrel,” Katie Roiphe’s “Graham Greene’s Vietnam,” and Abigail Thomas’ “The Magnificent Frigate Bird.” Good Stuff.

-Assorted magazine articles in the New Yorker and Fortune.

Leave a Reply

