procrastination

I am back in school and I have lots of work to do, and not a lot of focus. I have my first piece due in Nonfiction Book workshop next week, and though I have 70 pages of book, none of it seems appropriate for turning in to a workshop, so i have been messing with what I have instead of choosing a section, polishing it and moving on. I swear these better be the 70 best pages of a book, for all the time I spend on them.
Anyway, there are books to read and stories to evaluate, and all I want to do is take a nap. And blog.

Some numbers:
Movies watched in the past 24 hours: Two.
“J.S.A.-Joint Security Area,” a controversial Korean suspense film, which I thought was pretty good (after I changed the language settings to Korean with English subtitles from the crappy English dubbing). The movie is very Korean in its ending and not entirely uplifting. The Americans are made to look like gun crazy war mongers, not surprisingly (and not entirely incorrectly). The other movie I watched was “Something to Talk About,” with Dennis Quaid and Julia Roberts. Cheesy.
Books read this week: One. Hiroshima, by John Hersey.
Number of books to read in the next 8 days: Two. Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl and Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave by Frederick Douglass himself.
Number of cups of coffee consumed today: Zero. Oh the agony.
Number of minutes spent on cardio machine at the gym today: 25.
Number of soul-sucking women’s magazines read on said cardio machine: One.
All I can say is that the women who subscribe to “Women’s Day” are sad, sad people who are depressed (ads for Wellbutrin, Prozac, Zoloft), overweight (too many ads and How to Diet articles to mention), moms with way too much time on their hands (How to make your kids mummy treats for Halloween with twinkies, frosting and mini M&Ms! How to dress your kid up like a bunch of purple grapes!), and scrapbookers (How to keep track of your memories! Stickers!) Needless to say, those 25 minutes passed by rather slowly.
Number of housewarming visits/parties I will attend today: Two.
Number of minutes I have been blogging rather than doing my schoolwork: 25.

Leave a Reply

