Easter

I haven’t really celebrated Easter in years — a combination of religious indifference and distance from family, I guess. I can’t remember the last time I had, or was invited to, an Easter dinner. I can’t say that I miss it so much.

But yesterday I joined some friends and their kids for the Easter egg dying ritual. I haven’t done that in probably 20 years. It was a good time. Egg dying has gotten much more sophisticated since I did it last. I think my mom used to squeeze a few drops of food coloring into a bowl and we would lower eggs in to the dye with a spoon. Yesterday we made tie-dyed eggs, used a kit that mixed oil in with the dye to make swirled eggs (with mixed results), and drew on our eggs with clear wax crayons to decorate beyond the plain dyes. I’m so proud of my colorful little eggs that I took their pictures.

Leave a Reply

