Checked out

The thing about working from home is that you work from home. As in, you have to start coming up with reasons to leave your home so you don’t go stir-crazy. In general this isn’t difficult for me. I am all to eager to go shopping, visit cafes, go to the gym, etc., etc. In short, I am happy to leave my house to do things other than work. What gets challenging is leaving the house and still managing to get some work done.

Today I decided to pay a visit to the San Francisco Public Library. Aside from the vast numbers of crazy homeless people that seem to congregate there, it’s a decent place to get work done. As I discovered, there are laptop work stations, complete with power outlets and internet access. They’re well-lit, fairly comfortable, and they were fairly empty on a Tuesday afternoon. I ended up writing for an hour and a half or so before deciding to browse the books.
I am impressed by the building and the resources of the SFPL, but when it comes to checking out books, I’m a lot less so. I brought along my Amazon Wish List of books, in hopes that I could borrow some. (This is my new attempt at buying fewer books, since at the moment there’s no place to keep them in our apartment after I read them.) There are more than 20 books on my wish list, and most of them have been out for a while, but I only found three at the SFPL. All the rest were either checked out, overdue, or lost. That was disappointing. I vaguely remember that this was the reason I quit checking out books from the library in the first place. They never seemed to have anything I was looking for.

Anyway, I got some new books to read and I got some writing done. All in all, it was a productive day, since I had gotten some writing done in the morning, and I was able to set up an interview for a freelance story.

All that and I picked up the dry cleaning. Which was really just another ploy to get out of the house.

Leave a Reply

