Shonen Knife

I was cruising on iTunes this evening, and I came across a band I used to love but had kind of forgotten about, Shonen Knife, the all-girl Japanese punk(?) band. I am a fan again. How can you resist a song called “Giant Kitty”? Especially with lyrics like this:

Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
This is my giant kitty!
(Something) a ribbon on its head

When I sleep he’s always with me
I like his scruffy body!

Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!

Lovely face, giant kitty
Wearing the pink dress on it

When I go out it’s always beside me
Everybody likes his funny face!

Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!
Big big big big cat!

Spills on the dress, giant kitty!
Maybe her face a little dirty

But she’s my friend forever
Let’s sing this song together

If you’ve never heard it, I urge you to go to iTunes right now, and have a listen. You may be surprised to learn that Shonen Knife used to tour with Nirvana.

Another great one is “Bear up Bison,” in which the band urges the “ill-shaped” bison to “bear up” and “never say die.” It’s fabulous.

Leave a Reply

