Zen and the Art of Rewriting

I have just climbed 108 steps to some remote mountain Buddhist temple to get some advice or training. Getting there is in itself a milestone. But the Zen master there sends me away with some enigmatic saying, like “the obstacle is the path,” or “if you want to climb a mountain begin at the top,” which I am supposed to meditate on for years until the meaning becomes clear.

But I am talking about my thesis. I have gone back to the beginning (this despite the unfinished nature of the end) and am going through the early chapters, to begin trying to make changes. The problem is that when I read my professor’s notes next to the text, I am lost. And I don’t have years to meditate on it until the meaning becomes clear. Apparently the obstacle is the path.

Leave a Reply

