The Inheritance of Loss

I’m reading The Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai. It’s a book I might have picked up at some point, but I wasn’t in any hurry, until Friday, when I did something highly uncharacteristic and joined a book club by answering an ad on Craigslist. (The uncharacteristic part being the answering of the ad, not the book club joining. It’s kind of like a blind date, only to meet friends who like books. I’m a little nervous. But for some reason, knowing what kinds of books people like to read makes them seem approachable, even though I have never met them. Weird.)

Anyway, the meeting is tonight, so I have been madly reading TIoL all weekend. And man do I wish that I could go slower. This is the first book I have read in a long, long time in which the writing is so good on the sentence and phrase level that I want to write down little snippets to remember them later. Desai’s word choice is so precise and poetic.

One thought on “The Inheritance of Loss

Leave a Reply

