Thoughts on workshop

After the MFA has an interesting post (one of a series) about life After the Workshop. There are many things I miss about being in a (good) workshop….an audience, thoughtful commentary on my writing, suggestions on how to go forward, and perhaps most of all, the motivation that comes from reading others’ works in progress.

Lately I’ve been thinking that I need to find a writing group…but then I think that perhaps I am not ready for that again. There’s a certain pressure that comes from being in a workshop environment, and a certain sameness of work that results from being in a group of like-minded writers in a similar place experience-wise. Right now my needs and challenges as a writer are something I think I need to work on on my own for a while. There’s something to be said for developing a kind of writerly confidence outside of a workshop.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on workshop

  1. Elizabeth, when you’re ready (and I’m ready), maybe we can exchange and share our writing. I’m up for that…and I think I must live not too far away?

Leave a Reply

