melancholy, blah.

It’s been steely gray all morning, and now the gray has morphed into a drizzly rain. I managed to take the dog for a long walk along the bay before the rain came, but the whole time I felt outside of myself. I’ve been alone a lot the past few days — Billy is out of town — which tends to make me get a little lost in a dreamy, imaginative state. Good for writing, often not good for the mood.

I’ve called all of my friends who live in faraway places and to whom I haven’t spoken in what seems like forever. They are, of course, not home. Instead I’m having some coffee. Ok, and a double chocolate brownie, so what? :)

Instead of talking I’ve been working on my short story…it is as yet untitled, but blogging purposes I’ll call it “Hunger,” because that’s what it’s about — hunger in the food sense, but also hunger in the emotional sense; the characters are in need of connection and love, they hunger for those things, and yet are incapable of securing them for various reasons. Anyway, the point is, I’ve been thinking about how my mood affects my writing, because I’ve been noticing my melancholy mood coming out in my poor characters! It makes me think about writing as a kind of acting; writers infuse their characters with their own moods and experiences and actors do the same. The stage is different, but the premise is very, very similar.

7 thoughts on “melancholy, blah.

  1. sometimes, even though it’s painful, these moments come out in very very honest writing.

    btw, i live nearby. we can come out of our closets and meet “irl” :)

  2. I think some of the richest things happen in writing when we “infuse” them with our own moods or situations. And I think that writing is a fantastic alternative to talking.

    Jade Park! Fancy meeting you here!(I don’t even know where “here” is, I just followed a commenter home from my own blog)

  3. I hope you (and your poor characters!) feel a little less melancholy today.

    That’s interesting to think of writing characters in a similar way to how actors act characters. I’m always saying (my other half is a filmmaker) how WEIRD actors are and how I can’t believe the strange and funny things they do to get into character. I still remember one actor locking himself in the bathroom (the only bathroom on set) so he could scream at himself in the mirror before a certain take. The things he was screaming, as the entire crew could hear him, were quite freaky.

    Really interesting to think about. I mean, are we writers weird, too? I think I know that answer.

    I hope you have a good day.

    Sorry, I’m really wordy right now.

  4. Your melancholy sounds dreamy to me, as in “He’s dreamy!”. Maybe it’s the notion of being alone on a gray day. Here in NM it’s sunny, but we’re supposed to see your storm hit by Tuesday or Wednesday. Hope you have a productive writing day.

  5. I agree, some good writing can come out of really emotional moments, as long as all that emotion gets directed properly.

    Nova, yes, writers are so weird! Though if I find myself screaming at a mirror to “get into character” I think I might need to, um, pause.

  6. Days like the one you had yesterday can be hard. It’s gray and rainy in the Midwest today. There is a loneliness that fills a day like that. Sometimes those are my best days to write. Other times, I tend to want to sleep. Sounds like you opted for writing. I hope it went well. Being a writer can be so solitary.

    QM

  7. Yep, it’s a fine line between wanting to sleep and wanting to write on a day like that. I’m not sure what that says.

    But those days are good days to write…almost to the point where I wish I had more of them. Living in California I sometimes don’t get enough grey days…the kind of day when you don’t have to feel guilty you aren’t outside and writing feels like a luxury compared to the weather.

Leave a Reply

