sleep, by the way, is useful.

first view of the Libyan sea by you.

Yes, I’m back, though not quite up to writing much at the moment. It has been pointed out that I am home, but not blogging. Yes, it’s true. The reason is that I have not slept much. In several days.

As in, we left Berlin on Sunday morning early, which is late Saturday evening in California. We flew 9 hours to Newark, NJ. We had a 3 hour layover. We flew 6.5 more hours to California. I went to bed at 8:30 pm, which was approximately 6 am, I think, Berlin time. The problem was not the long flights or the layover, or the missed night’s sleep, but the jet lag. I woke up at 3 am.

I’m a stubborn fighter of time and the schedules my body makes for itself. No naps! Staying awake will help get us back on schedule, I say. I drink coffee, and manage to make it through the whole day. I’m in bed by 9:30 Monday night.

And again I woke up at 3 am.

So I’ve been operating on about 12 hours sleep since Sunday morning, or Saturday night, depending on how you look at it. And it’s now Tuesday night.

I’ve been alternately punchy, delirious, confused, slow, hungry and fuzzy-headed for about three days now. I don’t recommend this experience.

Since I’m in no shape to write about our trip at the moment, for now I’ll say that it was excellent. The jet lag is worth it. In any case, our trip: gorgeous beaches were sunbathed on, ruins were clamored over, amazingly tasty foods were eaten, crowded markets were navigated, soccer matches were watched, opera was enjoyed…

It was a good trip.

6 thoughts on “sleep, by the way, is useful.

  1. Dude, welcome back, and I’m so sorry. I had that experience once coming back from Denmark – I felt nauseated for three days after I landed back in the U.S. I can’t wait to hear more from your trip, and I hear you’re going to be at the shindig for L. (unless you’re sleeping). See you there!

  2. That was a long trip. I kept checking back to see if you were posting again. I was shocked to see something other than the German maps. Welcome back, and here’s to a good night’s sleep.

  3. Yes….I got through this every time I come back from Greece. For some reason reentry is particularly hard from there. I had insomnia for months afterwards. But…have you ever heard of valerian root? You can get it at most drugstores and it can make you sleepy naturally. Also melatonin helps with jet lag. (Oh well…I bet you’re tired but happy.) Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

