working full-time and writing…sometimes.

It’s always hard to settle into a new job. It requires adjusting routines, or in my case, getting into a routine, since I haven’t really had one for a while now. It also raises the big question: When will I write?

You could argue that working as a reporter is a writing job, so I shouldn’t stress about it. And I’m not, exactly. But it’s a different kind of writing, obviously, and there are other things I like to write about besides the things I will be reporting on. So when is that going to happen?

The answer is, I have no idea. I haven’t settled into a routine yet, so I’m sure eventually I will figure out when and where to fit my creative writing into my schedule. I had dreams of getting up early and writing for an hour before going to work. But anyone who knows me will probably laugh at this, since I am not much of a morning person. I’ve been working for three days, and I’ve already overslept twice, so the chances of that plan succeeding are probably low. Still, it’s something to shoot for. There are always stolen moments on the train or during lunch. And, there’s the weekend, which in the past for me has been a fairly writing-free time, but now, that will have to change.

There are good things about working full-time and trying to write too, though it sounds difficult. For one, having a routine is good. Being around people who care about good writing is good. Being around people is good. And, it sounds strange, but those interludes between work and home on the train, those are good too, for jotting down notes and ideas, and for thinking about writing.

3 thoughts on “working full-time and writing…sometimes.

  1. Congrats on the new job.
    I went through a similar change about a year ago. For a while I had a life structured with lots of creative writing time, then took a full-time job working as a writer (medical field). I have to say: I think I do more creative writing now than before. The time limitation makes me schedule creative time in, and my day-writing-job leaves creative energy for my own writing. I crave working on my projects after writing for something else all day.

    Also–I can totally relate to your reverse-culture-shock coming home from traveling. I agree that that’s harder than being in the foreign place.

  2. I write “secretly” at work — not very much, and not very secretly, but when inspiration strikes I can sometimes bang out a page or two. Mostly this means typing up from handwritten stuff. But a page or two, here and there, on my lunch break, does add up. And I do write on the weekend, and look forward to it as a treat, since it is quite different than writing for work. You will certainly find you rhythm.

  3. Congratulations on your new position! (Coincidentally, I also started a new job this week, though I was just switching from one company to another, so certainly not as exciting.)

    As for finding time to write, once you get your new routine down you’ll see the available moments, I’m sure. I save my weekends for “writing days” — I think of them like a treat, too, just like Steve said.

    I’m not a morning person, and I never thought I would do this, but I do the morning-writing thing now. I find my days feel so much more worthwhile if I’ve written before I get to the office, even if just an hour. I’m happier. It makes such a difference.

    Then again, my day job is not a writing job. You never know… you might find yourself even more inspired than before!

Leave a Reply

