Oversubscribed.

I hear people saying that all the time these days. As in, “I’m so oversubscribed right now, I couldn’t possibly find time to read/cook actual food/spend time with my kids/etc.”

Whenever I hear that, I think, “As in, you get too many magazines?” Because frankly, that’s my definition of oversubscribed. I don’t know what my point is, exactly, except that I hate when people use words like “oversubscribed” when they really mean “busy.”

Anyway, I went to the bookstore today, which is not something I needed to do, because I am actually oversubscribed, in the true sense, as in, I have a lot of magazines to catch up on. And I’m not even done with Anthony Doerr yet. (Though I made some excellent progress last night as the result of inexplicably waking up at 2:30 am and not being able to go back to sleep until 5:30, which is not necessarily the trade-off I was looking for in terms of getting some reading done.) The bookstore beckoned, and I did not resist. It is foggy today, the perfect kind of weather for being in a bookstore….Who am I to argue with that?

In fact my reason for going into the bookstore was to buy a new notebook. I have a certain type of notebook that I like to write in, and until I did an Internet search about five minutes ago, I didn’t know where to buy them, except at this one bookstore in my neighborhood. I used to write in these notebooks in 2000 or 2001, and then they disappeared. And then, this year I found them again. I love these notebooks. They have a tight spiral on the side that doesn’t catch on things or get in the way of my hand as I write. And their covers are sturdy, so it’s easy to write on trains or where ever.

I only saw four left on the shelf, so I bought two. Now that I’m home, I see that you can buy them online, and they don’t seem to be nearing any kind of demise just yet. I even found other people who worried over losing them and not being able to buy them anymore, who were also heartened by their sudden return.

Anyway, I also came out of the store with a fat paperback.

I’m sure I’ll get to that eventually.

One thought on “Oversubscribed.

  1. Thanks for the clarification on “oversubscribed.” You’re right. The word is overused. Reminds me of “bandwidth” and other words, now I can’t think of them.

    I can’t keep up with my The New Yorker magazine. I used to read every short story. Now I’m down to just the personal essays. But I think I might have already left a comment here some months ago to that effect.

Leave a Reply

