7 weird/random things

My MFA classmate Laurie, the blogger behind A Chronic Dose, tagged me to reveal seven random/weird things about myself. My wrist is better, and I’m up for the challenge. And so:

1. My hobby/sport growing up was riding horses. I was a member of a group called Pony Club ā€” which then as now seems an extremely unimaginative and possibly even made-up name; I was always having to convince people of its existence. One of the competitions I participated in as part of Pony Club activities was an event held every winter called “Know Down.” Think of it as a Jeopardy competition for kids but centered on horse-related topics. My Pony Club buddies and I spent hours memorizing facts about horse anatomy, basic veterinary concepts, and the names of various pieces of horse-related equipment. Though I am now living a horse-free life (and have been for about 15 years) I still have flashback moments and am reminded that I know what a gaskin is, and a fetlock, and what to do when a horse gets a puncture wound. None of which is helpful in my daily life, except, perhaps, if I decided to write a novel about the horsey set.

2. I’m a relentless watcher of nature documentaries. I almost never know what’s on prime time TV, but I can tell you about the behavior of sea otters, capybara and grass-eating baboons. David Attenborough is my narrator of choice. Mammals are my favorites to watch, followed by sea creatures of all kinds, and birds.

3. When I asked Billy about my idiosyncrasies, he said that he’d have to think, since he’s gotten used to the things he used to find weird. Then he said, “But you do sleep with your arms behind your head.” That’s true: I frequently wake up in the morning lying on my back, my arms bent at the elbow, my hands under my head, as if I’ve been thinking about something. I also have a habit of sleeping on my stomach, on my arms. I often wake up in the middle of the night because my fingers/hands/arms have fallen asleep, what with me laying on them. I guess that’s kind of weird.

4. I love cheese. Cheddar, brie, gouda, colby, goat … yum. I used to bring crackers and cheese slices for lunch in high school. My friends called me The Mouse. OK, not really. But once, someone said I was “like a mouse,” because I brought cheese so often. Billy claims that I would not survive a week without cheese in my diet, and though I’m sure I’d pull through, it would be challenging. I eat cheese at most meals. My favorites: goat, feta, and sharp white Vermont cheddar. There are, so far, anyway, only two cheeses I’m not that fond of: provolone (too sweet) and swiss (tastes sour, like it’s moldy).

5. I’ve never seen “The Godfather” movies (or most other spectacularly famous films for that matter). Whenever I tell people I’ve never seen “The Godfather,” without fail they say, “YOU’VE NEVER SEEN THE GODFATHER??!” so I guess I must be in the minority. While I’m at it, I’ve never read The Lord of the Rings and I only made it through one of the movies, and then, only grudgingly.

6. When I eat ice cream at home, I have a habit of either eating it straight out of the carton using a fork (preferred) or eating it out of a coffee mug with a spoon. I have no idea why I prefer a coffee mug to a bowl and I have no idea why I started using a fork for direct-carton-to-mouth ice cream enjoyment, but for some reason I find it satisfying to see the marks in the ice cream left by the tines. Other people I live with (or have lived with) don’t find this entirely endearing.

7. I managed to get through college without taking a single math class. And believe me, it wasn’t because I tested out. We had the option, at my lovely, flexible liberal arts school, to take science instead of math, and I took astronomy and various geology classes instead. There was a dangerous amount of math in the astronomy class, but somehow I squeaked by. The only things I can still point out in the sky are the Big Dipper, the Pleiades, and Orion’s belt.

I’m supposed to tag seven more people to reveal their seven random tidbits but I’m under a crazy-short deadline for some stories, and so, a shortcut: if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged.

Here are the rules:
1) Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.
2) Share 7 random and/or weird facts about yourself.
3) Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.
4) Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

2 thoughts on “7 weird/random things

Leave a Reply

