Favorite short story collections

Last year, there was a flurry of lists of favorite short stories. The other day Kate of Kate’s Book Blog listed her favorite short story collections, and I have been thinking of what mine might be ever since. Here’s what I came up with:

The Interpreter of Maladies, Jhumpa Lahiri

St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves, Karen Russell

The Things They Carried, Tim O’Brien

The Shell Collector, Anthony Doerr

Close Range: Wyoming Stories, Annie Proulx

How to Breathe Underwater, Julie Orringer

The Elephant Vanishes, Haruki Murakami

The Train to Lo Wu, Jess Row

Drinking Coffee Elsewhere, ZZ Packer

The Hermit’s Story, Rick Bass

Lizard, Banana Yoshimoto

… I could go on. There are so many, and so many I have yet to read. What are your favorites?

6 thoughts on “Favorite short story collections

  1. Historically, I haven’t been much of a short story fan, but have recently discovered, and am loving, the stories of Alice Munro. I think this year might have to be the year I investigate short stories more.

  2. I agree, Munro is amazing, but I didn’t list her because I can’t read her stories over and over, and I can’t read too many at once … I get too depressed. I guess that’s my personal bias. I do love some of her individual stories though. Just… a collection is too much for me.

  3. Pingback: Favorite short story collections « Writing Under a Pseudonym

  4. I had to participate–so I put a list too–! I realized that even though I am a short story lover, I sadly don’t read enough collections (especially older ones), and that it’s hard to think of good collections.

  5. Here’s a few for your pile!

    Black Tickets, by Jayne Anne Phillips
    Jesus’ Son, by Denis Johnson
    Woman Hollering Creek, by Sandra Cisneros
    Birds of America, Lorrie Moore
    The Paris Stories, by Mavis Gallant
    Under the 82nd Airborne and Twilight of the Superheroes, by Deborah Eisenberg
    A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, Yiyun Li

    And then it’s collected now most often in her Collected Stories, but Katherine Anne Porter’s Pale Horse, Pale Rider and Theft are two stories—one very long, the other, very short—that are among my favorite stories of all time.

    For writers I watch, waiting for their collections to appear, Wells Tower, Nami Mun and Paul Yoon top that list.

Leave a Reply

