I’m committed now.

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1.pngWell, I did it. I’ve signed up to try National Novel Writing Month again. I was waffling, but there was some peer pressure — all the cool kids are doing it! — and here I am signing up to crank out 50,000 words in 30 days.

No big deal. Yeeah.

I had been tossing around the idea of writing 50,000 words of nonfiction, since that is what I am more in the habit of writing. But… I’m not in the mood. So there you have it. I’m planning to write a novel-in-stories instead, set in San Francisco. Maybe doing this will answer some of my questions about linked stories/novels-in-stories, who knows. In any case, starting Sunday, I’ll be attempting to write 1,667 words a day and to avoid the tendinitis/carpal tunnel symptoms that plagued me last time I tried this.

I’d like to say I’m ready, but I’m not. I’ve got a lot of thinking to do about characters, plot, how the stories link, etc. I’m a little nervous about signing on for so many words. It’s been a while since I was in a place where I could write that much, that quickly.

It will be good for me, if I can pull it off.

Here’s to November!

 

4 thoughts on “I’m committed now.

  1. I love how crazy it sounds and how you roll with it. I think it would drive me crazy, at least until I adjusted and saw it humorously. I hope. Anyway, it sounds as extreme as New Orleans and that’s saying a lot . . .

  2. God, I want to do this! But it isn’t happening this side of Christmas. Plus my beloved let me know in no uncertain terms what the consequences might be if I committed to two hours per evening at my laptop every day for a month. In her defence, we have approx one 1.5 hours a day when our time overlaps at all…

    Maybe I could do it in my lunch hour.

  3. You could always do it in spirit by writing on your lunch hour for a month, and see what you’ve got in the end. There’s something to be said for knowing thousands of other people are going through what you are and struggling with the same time constraints.
    I’ve questioned why they do it in November. It’s not really the best month for novel writing, with the holidays approaching. I’ve always thought January would be better since it’s often dreary and cold.

  4. Pingback: Cheering from the bleachers: NaNoWriMo « Writing Under a Pseudonym

Leave a Reply

